Version 7.0 release
To be released beginning on June 10, 2019. The release will be published in batches over the space of several days to ensure stability. Consequently, some changes may not appear on your account until after the release date.
The Version 7.0 release includes the following changes and enhancements.
Let's Encrypt self-service
Let's Encrypt provides a free security certificate to secure custom domains. Previously, getting one installed on your Wild Apricot site involved submitting a support request then waiting for a response.
Now, you can order a security certificate for your custom domain yourself and get it installed within approximately 30 minutes.
To order a free security certificate from Let's Encrypt, make sure that the option to install a free SSL certificate from Let's Encrypt is checked when you add your custom domain on the Domain name management screen.
If you've already added your custom domain but don't have a security certificate installed for your domain, you can order one by clicking the Check button beside each of your custom domain names (both the regular and www versions)...
...then clicking the Issue certificate link.
Let's Encrypt security certificates automatically renew themselves every 3 months without any notification. However, if you've made changes to your DNS settings, the certificate might fail to renew.
You can now set up recurring donations so that pre-authorized donations can be automatically collected on a regular schedule.
Recurring donations are only available if your Wild Apricot site is connected to a Wild Apricot Payments/AffiniPay account.
Once a donor has made a recurring donation, full administrators and donation managers can view, adjust, and delete their recurring donation subscription. Donors can view or stop their own recurring donation subscription but not adjust the frequency or any other details.
To enable recurring donations, you need to check within the Donation settings screen the recurring donation options you want to appear on your donation form.
For more information, see Recurring donations.
The one-click checkout feature allows your paying customers to save their credit or debit card details for faster checkouts in the future. Instead of entering their card details again, they can pay by choosing a saved card as their payment method.
This feature is only available if your Wild Apricot site is connected to a Wild Apricot Payments/AffiniPay account.
To save a credit or debit card for future transactions, the payer enters the card details on the payment screen then checks the Store card details for faster checkouts option.
Wild Apricot doesn't store the saved card details on our servers or your account, but simply references the details stored in AffiniPay's secure environment when your customer chooses to pay using a saved card.
For more information, see One-click checkout.
New look and feel
We've updated the look and feel of admin view with a new, more modern look.
As part of the admin view redesign, the print icon has been removed. You can display the print dialog by clicking Ctrl + P on Windows, and Command + P on a Mac.
Emailing initially disabled for all new accounts
Emailing is now initially disabled for all new accounts. Previously, emailing was initially disabled for a selected number of accounts only.
Disabling emailing for new accounts allows you to set up your account and test your email setup without actually sending emails to your contacts.
No emails – except the Password for new contacts, Forgot password and New administrator emails – will be sent to your contacts. Instead, they will be routed to your organization contact's email address, as specified on your Organization details screen. All manual emails will also be routed to your organization contact.
While emailing is disabled, the emails that would have been sent are still recorded in your email log, allowing you to test and confirm your email setup. Test emails recorded in your email log but not sent to the selected recipients have the phrase [Test mode] added to their subject lines.
Once you are ready to enable emailing, you can click the Enable emailing button within your email settings.
Once you enable emailing, you cannot disable it again.
A number of issues identified by our clients have been fixed, including but not limited to the following:
- Scheduled email blast sent multiple times
- Unable to delete demo forum post
- File access settings being reset to public
- Waitlist option not available when registration type is set to be hidden when unavailable